O Em Gee It’s My First Guest Feature

Blog infographic

In Conversation With: The Hippy Christian Mum on Over Heaven’s Hill

How many children do you have?

I have two children and on the blog I’ve called them Beg and Beb. Beg is my brown-eyed-girl. She is 6yrs old. Beb is my blue-eyed-boy. He is 5 months old. It feels really weird whenever I type out their blog nicknames but I had seen other bloggers using pseudo-names for their children and I just thought it was a really nice idea as I am talking about them so publicly. It feels a bit close to the bone to use their real names even though I do post pics of them on Instagram too!

IMG_20160514_213218

Are you a Working Mum, Stay-at-Home Mum or Work-from-Home Mum?

I am a SAHM of 6 years. Before I gave up work to stay home, I worked part time as an admin assistant in a social work team. I really liked my job but after childcare costs I would have been adding only £100 to our household income. As it was I couldn’t bear the thought of leaving her at 9 months (we didn’t have family who could have her) and so I took voluntary redundancy.

I find I do tend to face a lot of pre-judgement with the whole SAHM thing. People assume I am claiming top ups or that I have a secret mill stashed in an offshore account. I stopped fighting people’s opinions about it a few years ago and now I let them think what they like without correction. I think if people really want to get to know me they will ask of their own volition. My friends know us and the rest can talk!

I have friends who work full time, part time and some don’t work, some are on maternity leave, single parenting, adoptive, foster, all kinds of amazing wonderful mums. We can still moan to each other if we’ve had a hard week without judging the other’s life circumstances.

What is the best part about being a Mum?

It has to be the pure joie de vivre that only children have. The laughter. No matter what is going on in life hearing your children laugh just sets something alight within your soul. I like the silly too. I do silly voices for the bedtime stories. My husband does silly voices and games. We say stupid stuff all the time and Beg thinks it is all great fun and it makes me laugh too. I also love watching Beg and Beb’s relationship unfolding in front of me. I can’t believe we almost never had another, she loves her brother so much. It’s truly a beautiful thing to be witness to.

What is your biggest fear as a Mum?

I recently had to face some big mum fears when Beb was born. He had to spend the first couple of weeks in neonatal intensive care which was a really hard time for us as a family. When he was born he was breech and it hadn’t been picked up. He was born not breathing so instead of laying him on me the midwife had to perform CPR immediately. I didn’t actually get to hold him until he was 8 days old.

He had cooling therapy and then had seizures when they brought him back up to temp. He had a chest drain, infection, morphine, anti-seizure medication. It was a scary time. I just prayed and prayed over him. I would go into the NICU and reach into his incubator and he was freezing cold. He was there in his nappy, wires everywhere, shivering, and all I could do was touch his hand and talk. So, that is what I did. He gripped my finger and I told him about his big sister and sang him made up songs.

wp-1463904772522.jpeg

My church prayed for us too and my Pastor asked everyone he knew to pray for us. There were whole churches all over the world praying for him, as far as New Zealand. At first I didn’t know if we would ever bring him home. My husband said he knew we would. They told us there would be effects from the lack of oxygen at birth but they had no idea to what extent it would be. But I’m absolutely joyous to say his MRI scan was completely clear. He is a little miracle, and he is absolutely thriving. He is a wonderful bubbly 5 month old and I praise God for him everyday.

If you could share one piece of advice to other soon-to-be Mums, what would it be?

Well, if something doesn’t feel right in your pregnancy do bring it up no matter how silly you think it is. I kept saying to my midwives, what is this big hard lump at the top of my bump and they passed me off. Turns out it was my baby’s head. And definitely breastfeed. It gets easier as you go along and once it does it’s an absolute breeze and so great for bonding as baby gets older. Oh and have a Blessingway. Best thing I did when I was pregnant. I did a post on mine which you can read here.


Thanks for having me on your conversation series at Over Heaven’s Hill. I’m truly honoured as I am a newbie blogger. My blog is only 4 months old. You can read more about my birth story here.

And thank you Kate for joining us on In Conversation With. It was a pleasure and after reading your interview, I went straight to your blog to read more about your birth story. I had also have never heard of a Blessingway before. It is such a beautiful idea empowering the mother through the strength of sisterhood.

You can find Kate at her blog The Hippy Christian Mum, on Twitter, Instagram and Pinterest

You can find Geraldine from Over Heaven’s Hill on Facebook and Twitter

 

A Mum Track Mind

 

Author: thehippychristianmum

Baby-wearing, dairy-free, breastfeeding, home-birthing, cloth-nappying, church-going, slightly foul-mouthed, stay at home mum. Head of my own very exclusive parenting club.

20 thoughts on “O Em Gee It’s My First Guest Feature”

    1. That’s such a long time. It’s really tough isn’t it. It was my faith in God that got me through it. I met a mum whilst there who’s son had been there 6wks and had been in the last room twice ready to go home but then moved again to the NICU. So hard. The preemies were so tiny. When our baby moved to HDU we were so pleased! Then he just got better really fast it was amazing. Thanks for stopping to comment:)

      Like

  1. This is a great post and full of such positivity! Kate sounds so brave having been through that with Beb, it must have been so tough. It doesn’t matter whether you work or not, and I wish there wasn’t the stigmatism with SAHM, as when you’ve had a child it’s so hard to go back to work. I loved reading this guest series wishing you the best for the future. Thanks so much for linking up at #fortheloveofBLOG. Claire x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh my, what a terrifying time in the NICU. I truly couldn’t imagine the struggle of leaving every night without your sick little baby, but I’m so happy that you all are on the other side and doing so well! The pure joy that children have truly is so infectious, and it is definitely one of my favorite aspects of motherhood. I can be having the worst day possible, but my son’s laughter makes everything okay. Thanks so much for sharing! ❤ #KCACOLS

    Like

  3. The laughter part of parenthood is one of my favourite things too. We love giggles, especially at bedtime. Now my girls are making up their own jokes, that’s cool too. Lovely advice for new mums about any pregnancy worries. #KCACOLS

    Like

  4. Lovely answers! You are very honest and it’s nice to discover a bit more about you and your family. I had no idea about your poor little baby. He looked so cute! I agree about your advice when you say that future mummies need to talk about any doubt, even the smallest one! There is no place for silliness at all. Being safe and secure is so much more important! Thanks so much for linking up at #KCACOLS. Hope you come back again next Sunday.

    Like

  5. Really interesting interview, I love reading posts like this to learn more about fellow bloggers (mainly because I’m so nosey!). Glad everything turned out OK after the scary start for Beb #KCACOLS

    Like

  6. Great interview, I love reading posts like this to find out more about other bloggers (I am a bit nosey!) My daughter also spent time in the special care unit when she was born thanks to being a premmie #kcacols

    Like

Leave a Reply

