My Breech Home Birth.

My breech birth story.

Roses

 

The Birth Story Post.

Beb’s birth did not go how anyone expected it to. In short, he was breech and nobody had picked up on this until his little bum came peeping out instead of his little head. To top it off, I was in my bathroom at home having had no pain relief whatsoever. He was born not breathing and had to have CPR twice. He spent the first 2 weeks of his life in intensive care; I didn’t get to hold him until he was 8 days old. I would like to say at this juncture that he is currently cwtched up on me in the wrap quite contentedly and has recovered wonderfully well. Thank God. It was an incredibly difficult time for us as a family as you can imagine and we are just so grateful to have our beautiful brave strong boy home with us.

img-20160308-wa0009.jpg(first hold-8 days old)

We had planned a homebirth right from the beginning of the pregnancy. I had wanted one with my daughter 6 years previously but had been casually waved off, as the wishes of pregnant women often seem to be, so this time around I was a bit more long in the tooth and a bit more sure of myself and what I wanted. The idea being that my labour and birthing experience would be more relaxed overall and therefore easier to cope with at home in my own environment. I had researched homebirth and found that as a 2nd time mum with no medical issues relating to my previous pregnancy homebirth was statistically just as safe an option as a hospital birth. I hired a doula (doula post to come) and found the midwives to be very supportive of the decision this time round.

At 38 weeks I had a major freak out. I went to a midwife appointment and broke down crying; I was scared (I’d found my first birth very hard) so she booked me in to see a consultant to discuss the option of a planned c-section which I promptly cancelled the next day as I was even more scared at the prospect of surgery…little did I know at the time that would have been a better outcome for my baby. Instead I called on my strong mamma friends and had a blessingway (Blessingway post here) which had an amazing effect. It calmed my nerves no end and really propped me up so that I actually went into labour very settled. Shout out here to my awesome, awesome friends.

In the end, I know I made the best decisions I could have at the time, every one of them well thought out and considered with the information I had. I discussed my birth plans with my husband, midwives and my doula, we discussed possible eventualities; haemorrhage, stillbirth, many difficult but necessary conversations and every time it was a case of “this is so very rare, you will be fine”. Unfortunately it just happened that we were one of the rare exceptions. In fact when I went to theatre after the birth I was telling the anaesthetist that usually I am the most average person, who usually falls right in the middle of any given health parameters and she just looked at me like “not this time”.

Thankfully Beb’s birth story has a very happy ending and we as a family are having a wonderful time getting to know this beautiful boy who just hurtled to earth like a comet. My church and I have committed to praying for other families going through similar circumstances. If you have come across this post because you have experienced a similar situation, you might find a whole support system is out there waiting to welcome you at your local church.

Have you experienced anything mentioned in this post? Connect with me through my Contact page.

wp-1463904772522.jpeg wp-1463904450739.jpeg

Bliss is a charity that supports families whose babies need special care:

Bliss

Excited to be linking this post with The Pramshed

“>#fortheloveofBLOG

 

 

Author: thehippychristianmum

Baby-wearing, dairy-free, breastfeeding, home-birthing, cloth-nappying, church-going, slightly foul-mouthed, stay at home mum. Head of my own very exclusive parenting club.

16 thoughts on “My Breech Home Birth.”

  1. Well done Kate I bet this took a lot to write.. being so honest with everything. You are awesome I’m extremely proud of you and thank you for my beautiful neice and nephew xxx

    Like

    1. I definitely would have had a c-sec too had the breech presentation been noticed. I firmly believe he was breech all along too I kept asking what the big lump under my right ribs was-turns out it was his head. Glad both yours were diagnosed. Us mummies go through the mill sometimes xx

      Like

  2. Oh lovely that sounds like such a scary experience for you, and Beb. I can’t imagine how awful it must have been to not hold your baby for 8 days, and for him to be born mot breathing, but I am so glad that everything is fine now for you both. I get the impression that home births are becoming more and more popular, and also something that medical professionals are pushing more for. They need to be right for the individual and for you in sounded perfect at the time, it was so unfortunate that Beb was breech. It’s times like these that we really appreciate our medical professionals. Thanks so much for sharing your story with #fortheloveofBLOG, hope you come back next week. Claire x

    Like

    1. Thanks Claire, yes I think it was the scariest thing I’ve ever had to do & not holding him was really hard. I have a whole new level of appreciation for our medical professionals & nhs. We’re very lucky. Thanks for your comment & thanks for clearing up my mistake with the linky. See you next week on #fortheloveofBLOG xx

      Like

  3. Oh my goodness what a scary thing to happen, you poor thing! Birth is so unpredictable isn’t it! I’m so happy to hear that you are both fine and doing well now though. Thanks for sharing with us on #fortheloveofBLOG x

    Like

    1. Thanks amumtrackmind yes unpredictable, I later found out that as a mum planning a home birth I should have been offered an ultrasound at 36wks to check positioning but unfortunately I wasn’t. Thanks for helping clear up my mistake with the linky. See you next week on #fortheloveofBLOG

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

