The curious incident of the name of the blog..

How I named my blog.

As I’m sure any blogger will testify, choosing the name for your blog is really difficult! Last week I decided that it was the week I was definitely, definitely, starting *that blog* I had been talking about for nigh on 2 years (2 years!) because you know, moving house with a 3 month old wasn’t giving me enough to do.

So I got down some content at last and I was on the sign up word press page and the last barrier was the rather arrogant what-are-you-going-to-call-this-blog page that just seemed to be boring into my very being. My husband and I threw a few ideas back and forth all of which were rubbish and the evening was wearing on and so I went with ‘The Hippy Christian Mum’ . Signed up and got started feeling pleased with myself only to wake up the next day with what can only be described as a ‘naming hangover’. You know when you wake up hazy after one too many with that feeling of trepidation. That. Only less spewing, thankfully.

The hippy bit.

A few things I do as a mum can be considered ‘hippy’ ‘woo’ ‘alternative’ or whatever. I came to them mostly as a solution to something and I consider most things I do to be ‘mainstream’ but I’m still surprised how many people comment when I’m out and about carrying Beb in his sling. Baby-wearing is a solution to so many mum things, I can’t recommend it enough – for us it helps with Beb’s silent reflux. The cloth nappies decision was a solution to my local authority upping their recycling targets resulting in smaller bins and fortnightly collections. You soon realise the benefits of reusable’s when you’re faced with a fortnight stash of stinky newborn nappies (not to mention all the pretty prints!). Breastfeeding=no brainer, and I think most of us were ‘attachment parenting’ before it became a thing.

The Christian bit.

I believe in God, and the power of prayer. I used to think it was self-indulgent but as the saying goes “you just know that you know that you know.” that’s called faith. I pray aloud, in my head, all times of day and anywhere I happen to be. If I say I’ll pray for or with you, I will. I don’t subscribe to any ethos which hates, shames, or judges anyone for any reason, God’s agenda is Love. Period, full stop, the end. God is love.

The mum bit

Living in desperate hope that my husband’s parenting offsets mine enough that my kids make it through to adulthood relatively unscathed.

Phew it got a bit heavy there for a moment… read more about me in my about page.

 

Author: thehippychristianmum

Baby-wearing, dairy-free, breastfeeding, home-birthing, cloth-nappying, church-going, slightly foul-mouthed, stay at home mum. Head of my own very exclusive parenting club.

30 thoughts on “The curious incident of the name of the blog..”

  1. What a nice way to introduce yourself to the blog world. Keep writing you never know the impact you are having. I have discovered one like is a week is normal. So don’t get discouraged.

    Like

  2. Wow! Blogs like this are insightful, encouraging and inspiring. This is incredible and I hope you continue. A massive well done!

    Like

  3. Well done babes! I love this! On top of being an awesome mum u have an awesome talent for writing! Keep inspiring people! X x

    Like

  4. Great first post! Keep up the good work! Totally relate to the “hippy” thing – I sometimes think I was born into the wrong generation because I’m a SAHM and did breastfeeding, etc. You have to go with whatever works for your family though 🙂

    Like

  5. Great to see both a fellow Christian, a fellow breastfeeder and a fellow home birther all rolled into one!
    Keep up with the great work – we’re all busy beavering away in our own little way to change this world.

    Like

  6. I couldn’t help but look you up after your kind comment on Twitter! What a lovely name and it’s say nice to know something about you. I love the whole community side of blogging that I truly wasn’t expecting when I started mine. I hope you’re enjoying it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

